hunger

## **PRESS RELEASE**

## Welthungerhilfe elects new Supervisory Board: Bärbel Dieckmann confirmed as President

**Berlin, 25/11/2016.** Yesterday, the Welthungerhilfe General Assembly of Members elected its new honorary Supervisory Board. Bärbel Dieckmann was confirmed as president and Prof Dr Joachim von Braun, Director of the Center of Development Research (ZEF) of Bonn University, was re-elected as her deputy.

"In times of major crises, it is important that Welthungerhilfe puts the fight against the global hunger in the center of its work. The Supervisory Board is convinced that together with the Board of Directors and all staff members worldwide we can make an important contribution to eradicate hunger by 2030", Bärbel Dieckmann says.

Three new members have been elected into the seven members committee: Rita Lanius-Heck, member of Supervisory Board at Deutscher Landfrauenverband (German Rural Women's Association), Prof Dr Conrad Justus Schetter, scientific Director of Bonn International Center for Conversion (BICC) and Amadou Diallo, CEO of DHL Freight, Land- and Rail Transport. Norbert Geisler and Dr Tobias Schulz-Isenbeck, member of Board of Directors at Limbach Group SE, will continue their work in the Supervisory Board.

**Welthungerhilfe** is one of the largest private aid organisations in Germany. It provides aid from a single source: From rapid disaster relief to reconstruction and long-term development cooperation projects with local partner organisations, based on the principle of help for self-help. Since its establishment in 1962, more than 8,120 overseas projects in 70 countries have been supported with 3.033 billion Euro - for a world without hunger and poverty.

Deutsche Welthungerhilfe e. V.

Contact: Simone Pott Spokesperson

Phone: 0228 / 22 88 – 132 Mobile: 0172 – 2525962 simone.pott@welthungerhilfe.de

Assistance: Jessica Kühnle Phone: 0228 / 22 88 – 454

presse@welthungerhilfe.de

www.welthungerhilfe.de

